Chocolate Loaf Cake

This is one of the recipe’s that is near the front of my recipe book. I’ve had it for ages, and I can remember at one point in high school I would use this to make all sorts of variations. This particular variation is the chocolate loaf cake. I am used to this recipe having cracks in the top, but my oven clearly doesnt circulate the heat very well and thus my loaf cakes tend to have a lopsided crack like this one.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Cup Soft Butter/margarine (not melted)
  • 3/4 Cup Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 Cup Milk
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Essence
  • 1 1/4 Cups Self Raising Flour
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1/4 Cup Cocoa
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt

Method

My original recipe says mix all the ingredients for 3 minutes and pour into the baking tin. I’m changing it slightly because that’s impractical.

Grease the loaf tin and preheat the oven to 375°F/190°C.

Beat the butter, sugar, eggs, milk and vanilla essence until it is smooth.

Mix the remaining dry ingredients together, then add the liquid mixture stirring with a spoon/spatula.Once the ingredients are combined, beat with a mixer for 3 minutes.

Pour into the greased loaf tin and bake for 25 to 30 minutes.

