Carrot cake

We decided to invite some friends over and I decided to bake a carrot cake to feed them. I couldn’t find a carrot cake recipe that I was happy with so I sort of made one up. You can double up this recipe to make 2 layers, but I decided that a single layer would be more than enough for us. I used a 20 cm cake tin, and it made a decent height layer. Next time I may use a bundt tin or a much smaller, but taller tin. 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 cup wheatgerm
  • 1/2 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 cups grated carrots
  • 3/4 cup sunflower oil
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 170ºC and line a cake tin with paper.
  • Mix together all the dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  • In another bowl, mix together all the wet ingredients. I let the wet mixture stand for a about 10 – 15 minutes to allow for the moisture to be absorbed into the grated carrot.
  • Then mix together the  wet and dry ingredients, pour into the baking tin and bake for 50-60 minutes.
  • Allow the cake to cool before icing with cream cheese icing.
One response to “Carrot cake

  1. Pingback: Cream Cheese Frosting « Irreverent Baker·

Comments are closed.