Rose Cupcakes

It’s my birthday! I decided to mark the occasion with something yummy, non diet and lovely to look at. Of course I haven’t baked in a while I realise my ingredients cupboard is almost bare. I had to substitute some custard powder into my icing mixture which is why the icing is more peachy than rosy. The recipe for this is from Crumbs and Dirty Dishes. This recipe makes 12 cupcakes.

Ingredients

For the Rose-milk

  • 1 flower’s worth of rose petals (washed) (you may need to use more depending on how big or strong smelling your roses are)
  • 3/4 cup milk

For the Cupcakes

  • 120ml rose-milk
  • 275g self raising flour
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 110g unsalted butter
  • A few drops of red food colouring

For the Icing

  • 250g icing sugar
  • 15ml rose-milk
  • 50g unsalted butter
  • A few drops of red food colouring

Method

For the Rose-milk

An hour before you want to start on the rest of the cupcakes, take the milk for both the cakes and the icing and put on a fire on a very low heat with the (washed) rose petals. After at least an hour, remove the petals and drain excess milk then split the milk into the required amounts for cake and icing again.

For the Cupcakes

  • Preheat the oven to 160°C.
  • Line a tray with cupcake cases.
  • Cream the butter and sugar together until the mixture is very pale but not completely liquid.
  • Add one egg, beat for a few minutes then add the second egg before beating again.
  • Add one third of the flour, then one third of the rose-milk, beating for a few minutes or so after each addition. Repeat until both have been used up.
  • Add a drop or two of food colouring, just to give it a slight rose tint.
  • Spoon the mixture into 12 cupcake cases in the tray.
  • Bake in the oven for 25 minutes or until firm to the touch and cooked through. Leave to cool.

For the Icing

I’ll give you the actual recipe I should’ve followed, rather than the botch job I did. I made half the amount of icing from the original recipe and it was enough to cover all the cupcakes.

  • Beat the butter and rose-milk whilst adding the icing sugar gradually.
  • Drop in the food colouring – remember a little goes a long, long way.
  • Ice the cupcakes as soon as they are cool and the icing is ready.
5 responses to “Rose Cupcakes

    • I’ve seen recipes that use the same principle for lavender flavour, but alas, my lavender’s aren’t big enough to harvest yet.

  1. Happy birthday to you! I love how you treated yourself to this pretty and prim treat. That’s my kind of birthday present :)

  2. Pingback: Rose Cupcakes « The Best Cupcake Recipes·

  3. Pingback: Nigella’s Lemon Drizzle Cake « The Irreverent Baker·

Comments are closed.