Homemade Apple Sauce

I love apples, and this apple sauce recipe is the first time I tried it. Mainly because I made a roast pork and found we didn’t have any apple sauce in the fridge. I changed the recipe to be a smaller quantity and to use what I already had in the house. It may not look like the best apple sauce ever made and is a bit lumpy because I didn’t use cooking apples, but it tastes amazing.

Ingredients

2  Apples Peeled and Cored (the recipe said to use Bradley apples, but I used pink ladies)

25g Caster Sugar

25g Butter (I used unsalted butter)

2 tablespoons water

Melt the butter and sugar in a pan, over a medium/high heat stirring constantly to make sure the butter doesn’t burn. Once the sugar and butter are melted, add the apples. Turn the heat down to a medium/low heat, cover with a loose lid and stir occasionally. (I used this time to peel the potatoes for the roast potatoes).

After about 15-20 minutes or the apples are soft, mash with a potato masher, add the water and place back on the heat to cook for another 10-15 minutes.

Related articles

